Basic requirements to be a notary public in Texas are to be at least 18 years of age and to possess a $10,000 surety bond. Prospective Texas notaries public also must not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude.Continue Reading
Moral turpitude includes certain misdemeanors involving dishonesty or fraud, such as falsifying accounting records or theft. Minor traffic violations such as speeding will not prevent one from becoming a notary public.
Candidates who are eligible must be bonded for $10,000 and pay a filing fee, which was $21 as of September 2014. The application process simply consists of submitting Form 2301 to a county clerk or the office of the Secretary of State. Commissions are good for four years before requiring renewal. The steps for renewal are the same as they are for the initial application.
Once commissioned, a notary public is also required to purchase her own notary seal and record book. These are available from a number of different office supply companies. Texas law requires that records of all transactions be kept, and they must be made available to anyone who requests them and pays the required fees. Notaries in Texas have statewide jurisdiction.Learn more about Career Aspirations