In the state of New Mexico all body art professions are regulated trough the Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists. In addition to the apprenticeship requirements, a certified body artist must pass a theory and written exam as well as pay the fees associated with obtaining a license to practice. Body art professionals must also have current certifications from OSHA and the Red Cross for CPR and blood borne pathogens.Continue Reading
New Mexico body art professionals are subject to random inspection and any disciplinary action can affect the status of the artist's license. Piercing professionals are located throughout the state. However, some are more reputable than others. When looking for an apprenticeship, both the supervising artist and the business must be licensed and current. The piercers at the business should display their licenses where the public can view them.
Evolution Studios is an example of a licensed business with certified body artists where the appropriate documents can be seen. It is important that body art professionals maintain current licenses and certifications for the Board, OSHA and the Red Cross. According to state law, certification exams must be passed within 24 months of completion of the apprentice or training program. The program for piercing artists is a minimum of 1500 hours under a licensed artist.Learn more about Career Aspirations