Minimum wage in Michigan will increase on January 1 in 2016, 2017 and 2018, according to Public Act 138 of 2014. This is also called the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act. It repealed and replaced Public Act 154 of 1964.
On Jan. 1, 2016, minimum wage in Michigan will increase to $8.50 per hour. The final increase on Jan. 1, 2018, will make the minimum wage $9.25 per hour. The law allows businesses to pay employees ages 16 and 17 only 85 percent of the state minimum hourly wage. Tipped employees may be paid 38 percent of the state minimum hourly wage, but their wage plus tips must equal at least the state hourly minimum wage, or the employer must make up the difference.