Texas laws governing tattoos and tattoo studios specify that minors under the age of 18 may not be tattooed except under very specific circumstances. Tattoo artists must inform those getting a tattoo of the health risks involved and must keep detailed records regarding each client, according to the Texas Administrative Code.Continue Reading
In Texas it is illegal to tattoo anyone under the age of 18 unless the tattoo is being done to cover an existing tattoo that contains obscene language, gang symbols or drug references. When this type of tattoo is done, one of the minor's parents must be present, must provide a photograph of the tattoo being covered and must submit complete identity and contact information to the tattoo artist.
Tattoo artists may not tattoo anyone who is under the influence of drugs or alcohol or has a rash or abrasion on the skin to be tattooed. Tattoo artists are required to inform clients verbally and in writing regarding the risks associated with tattooing including risks of pain, scarring, bleeding, swelling, infection and nerve damage. The tattoo artist is also required to maintain complete client records for two years, such records to include the client's contact and identity information, the name of the tattoo artist, the date the tattoo was performed, the location of the tattoo on the client's body and the colors of the tattoo. The client must sign these records.Learn more about Tattoos
Other than in specific circumstances, Texas labor law prohibits employing children under the age of 14 or employing children in hazardous occupations, according to the Texas Workforce Commission. Texas law prohibits children under the age of 16 from working more than eight hours per day or 48 hours per week.Full Answer >
To find a tattoo artist who does Viking-style tattoos, research local tattoo studios, get recommendations from tattooed acquaintances, view the portfolios of various tattoo artists and ask about their experience with Viking designs. Most reputable artists have experience with a variety of styles, including Viking.Full Answer >
Since the Tattooing of Minors Act 1969 prohibits the act of tattooing anyone under the age of 18, it is therefore legal to get a tattoo in the UK at the age of 18 years old and above. The Tattooing of Minors Act 1969, however, does state that tattooing may still be done on anyone under the age of 18 provided that it is done for medical purposes by a qualified medical practitioner or anyone under his supervision.Full Answer >
The state of Wisconsin prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from receiving a tattoo. This applies even if the minor has parental consent for the procedure.Full Answer >