Q:

What are the Joe Pike books about?

A:

Quick Answer

The Joe Pike novels by Robert Crais are about a tough Los Angeles private investigator who investigates crimes, protects his clients from danger and brings the guilty to justice. Pike partners with Elvis Cole and has appeared in 16 Crais novels, as of September 2105.

Continue Reading

Full Answer

The 2007 novel, "The Watchman," was the first novel to feature Joe Pike as the main protagonist, rather than as a sidekick to Elvis Cole.

The Elvis Cole and Joe Pike novels are hard-boiled, private eye novels in the vein of Dashiell Hammett, Raymond Chandler and Robert B. Parker. Crais uses the first person narrative of the classic American detective novel but adds non-traditional elements, such as flashbacks, multiple story lines, multiple points-of-view and literary elements.

Learn more about Fiction

Related Questions

Explore