Spanish Word of the Day Archive
2012

  1. después (3): next, then (Sunday January 01)
  2. encantar: to love (Monday January 02)
  3. flojo (2): weak; lazy (Tuesday January 03)
  4. fuerte (2): sharp; heavy; intense (Wednesday January 04)
  5. hora (2): appointment; period (Thursday January 05)
  6. -ito (2): little... (Friday January 06)
  7. marco: frame; goal posts; framework (Saturday January 07)
  8. oscuro: dark (Sunday January 08)
  9. pararse: to stand up (Monday January 09)
  10. pensado: to plan to do (Tuesday January 10)
  11. pensar: to think (Wednesday January 11)
  12. pensar (2): to think about, to think over (Thursday January 12)
  13. por: because of; for (Friday January 13)
  14. que: Enjoy yourself; Enjoy yourself (Saturday January 14)
  15. retrato: portrait (Monday January 16)
  16. salir (2): to get out; to leave (Tuesday January 17)
  17. valer (2): OK! (Wednesday January 18)
  18. va: No way! (Thursday January 19)
  19. amarillo: yellow (Friday January 20)
  20. bonito: pretty (Saturday January 21)
  21. cabal: upright, fine; full, clear (Sunday January 22)
  22. contento: happy; pleased (Monday January 23)
  23. corona: crown; garland (Tuesday January 24)
  24. delgado: slim; thin (Wednesday January 25)
  25. despedir: to say goodbye to (Thursday January 26)
  26. destino: destiny; destination; posting (Friday January 27)
  27. devolver: to give back; to take back (Saturday January 28)
  28. dificultar: to make ... difficult; to hold up (Sunday January 29)
  29. entregar: to deliver; to hand in; to present (Monday January 30)
  30. fin: end (Tuesday January 31)
  31. final: end (Wednesday February 01)
  32. habitación: room; bedroom (Thursday February 02)
  33. harto: fed up, tired (Friday February 03)
  34. herido: injured, hurt (Saturday February 04)
  35. hojear: to leaf through, to flick through (Sunday February 05)
  36. inocente: innocent (Monday February 06)
  37. juicio: judgement, good sense; opinion; trial (Tuesday February 07)
  38. luego: then; later; soon (Wednesday February 08)
  39. mediado: halfway through (Thursday February 09)
  40. ocupación: employment, job; activity (Friday February 10)
  41. preocupar: to worry (Saturday February 11)
  42. preparar: to prepare, to get ready (Sunday February 12)
  43. preparado: ready, prepared (Monday February 13)
  44. puesto: place; post, job; stall (Tuesday February 14)
  45. resaltar: to highlight; to stand out (Wednesday February 15)
  46. saltar: to jump; to leap (Thursday February 16)
  47. supuesto: supposed, alleged (Friday February 17)
  48. vistazo: look; glance (Saturday February 18)
  49. balance: balance (Sunday February 19)
  50. balanza: scales (Monday February 20)
  51. barato: cheap (Tuesday February 21)
  52. entre: between; among (Wednesday February 22)
  53. entrenar: to train (Thursday February 23)
  54. entretanto: meanwhile (Friday February 24)
  55. fin (2): end (Saturday February 25)
  56. ganas: to feel like doing (Sunday February 26)
  57. hacer: to do; to make (Monday February 27)
  58. hacer (2): a year ago (Tuesday February 28)
  59. hambre: hunger (Wednesday February 29)
  60. húmedo: damp; moist (Thursday March 01)
  61. inoportuno: untimely; worst; unsuitable (Friday March 02)
  62. loco: insane, mad; crazy (Saturday March 03)
  63. locura: madness, insanity (Sunday March 04)
  64. -ura: beauty (Monday March 05)
  65. medida (2): measure; measurements; size (Tuesday March 06)
  66. medir: to measure (Wednesday March 07)
  67. molestar (3): to bother; to disturb (Thursday March 08)
  68. oportuno: timely; right; better (Friday March 09)
  69. pensar (3): to intend (Saturday March 10)
  70. pesar: to weigh (Sunday March 11)
  71. pesar (2): in spite of (Monday March 12)
  72. rehén: hostage (Tuesday March 13)
  73. seco: dry; dried (Wednesday March 14)
  74. tranquilo: calm (Thursday March 15)
  75. urgir: to be urgent (Friday March 16)
  76. víctima: victim; casualty (Saturday March 17)
  77. vista: sight (Sunday March 18)
  78. vista (2): to look up/to look down (Monday March 19)
  79. alcoba: bedroom (Tuesday March 20)
  80. animar: to encourage (Wednesday March 21)
  81. ánimo: spirits (Thursday March 22)
  82. bolsa: bag (Friday March 23)
  83. brazo: arm (Saturday March 24)
  84. caro: expensive (Sunday March 25)
  85. cartera: billfold; purse; schoolbag; briefcase (Monday March 26)
  86. ceja: eyebrow (Tuesday March 27)
  87. cintura: waist; waistline (Wednesday March 28)
  88. cinturón: belt (Thursday March 29)
  89. clavo: nail (Friday March 30)
  90. cuñado: brother-in-law (Saturday March 31)
  91. corbata: necktie, tie (Sunday April 01)
  92. cuello: neck; collar (Monday April 02)
  93. dentadura: (set of) teeth (Tuesday April 03)
  94. desaconsejar: to advise against (Wednesday April 04)
  95. doler: to hurt; to ache, to be sore (Thursday April 05)
  96. dolor: pain; ache (Friday April 06)
  97. entrada: entrance; entry (Saturday April 07)
  98. garganta: throat (Sunday April 08)
  99. grano: grain; bean (Monday April 09)
  100. guante: glove (Tuesday April 10)
  101. incapaz: incapable (Wednesday April 11)
  102. lana: wool (Thursday April 12)
  103. manga: sleeve; round, stage (Friday April 13)
  104. molesto: annoying, irritating; annoyed, irritated (Saturday April 14)
  105. nariz: nose (Sunday April 15)
  106. padre: tremendous; terrible (Monday April 16)
  107. particular: private; special; particular (Tuesday April 17)
  108. pendiente: outstanding, unresolved; outstanding (Wednesday April 18)
  109. -azo: huge; great (Thursday April 19)
  110. barba (2): beard (Friday April 20)
  111. bigote: mustache; whisker (Saturday April 21)
  112. bonito (2): pretty; nice (Sunday April 22)
  113. cepillo: brush (Monday April 23)
  114. cocina: kitchen; cooking (Tuesday April 24)
  115. cóctel: cocktail (Wednesday April 25)
  116. cuchara: spoon (Thursday April 26)
  117. cuchillo: knife (Friday April 27)
  118. desodorante: deodorant (Saturday April 28)
  119. económico: economic, financial; economical, inexpensive (Sunday April 29)
  120. espejo: mirror (Monday April 30)
  121. fiel: accurate; loyal, faithful (Tuesday May 01)
  122. hervir: to boil (Wednesday May 02)
  123. horno: oven (Thursday May 03)
  124. inquieto: worried; restless (Friday May 04)
  125. jabón: soap (Saturday May 05)
  126. látigo: whip (Sunday May 06)
  127. lavar: to wash (Monday May 07)
  128. leal: loyal, faithful (Tuesday May 08)
  129. nervioso: nervous (Wednesday May 09)
  130. novedoso: novel, original (Thursday May 10)
  131. pelirrojo: red-haired, red-headed (Friday May 11)
  132. pimienta: pepper (Saturday May 12)
  133. polvo: dust (Sunday May 13)
  134. precioso (2): beautiful, lovely, gorgeous; precious (Monday May 14)
  135. quemar: to burn (Tuesday May 15)
  136. rallar: to grate (Wednesday May 16)
  137. regalo: present, gift (Thursday May 17)
  138. susto: fright, shock (Friday May 18)
  139. auténtico: real; genuine (Saturday May 19)
  140. barbacoa: barbecue (Sunday May 20)
  141. ciego: blind (Monday May 21)
  142. cima: top; peak (Tuesday May 22)
  143. desapercibido: unnoticed (Wednesday May 23)
  144. desatar: to undo; to untie; to unleash (Thursday May 24)
  145. descansar: to rest; to have a rest (Friday May 25)
  146. descanso: rest; time off (Saturday May 26)
  147. desechar: to throw out; to dispose of (Sunday May 27)
  148. echar: to throw; to throw out; to fire (Monday May 28)
  149. echar (2): to put (Tuesday May 29)
  150. encima: on; on top of (Wednesday May 30)
  151. especial: special (Thursday May 31)
  152. familiar: familiar; family (Friday June 01)
  153. flor: flower (Saturday June 02)
  154. grabar: to record; to engrave (Sunday June 03)
  155. idéntico: identical, exactly the same (Monday June 04)
  156. inolvidable: unforgettable (Tuesday June 05)
  157. inquietar: to worry (Wednesday June 06)
  158. lleno: full (Thursday June 07)
  159. muro: wall (Friday June 08)
  160. ordenado: tidy; organized (Saturday June 09)
  161. país: country (Sunday June 10)
  162. pared: wall (Monday June 11)
  163. pico: beak; spout; peak (Tuesday June 12)
  164. piso: story, floor; apartment (Wednesday June 13)
  165. plancha: iron (Thursday June 14)
  166. pobre: poor (Friday June 15)
  167. preparar (2): to prepare (Saturday June 16)
  168. presentar (2): to hand in; to show (Sunday June 17)
  169. anteojos: glasses, spectacles (Monday June 18)
  170. atar: to tie; to tie up (Tuesday June 19)
  171. cocinar: to cook (Wednesday June 20)
  172. copa: glass (Thursday June 21)
  173. llenar: to fill (Friday June 22)
  174. nuez: walnut (Saturday June 23)
  175. ordenar: to arrange; to tidy (Sunday June 24)
  176. pantalla: screen (Monday June 25)
  177. pendiente (2): to await, to wait for (Tuesday June 26)
  178. pisar: to walk on; to tread on (Wednesday June 27)
  179. plegar: to fold (Thursday June 28)
  180. prisa (2): hurry; rush (Friday June 29)
  181. punto: to be about to (Saturday June 30)
  182. quemadura: burn (Sunday July 01)
  183. regalo (2): bargain, steal (Monday July 02)
  184. relato: story; report (Tuesday July 03)
  185. remover: to stir; to turn over; to poke (Wednesday July 04)
  186. rico: rich; delicious (Thursday July 05)
  187. sal: salt (Friday July 06)
  188. sala: room (Saturday July 07)
  189. sendero: path (Sunday July 08)
  190. tapete: tablecloth; rug (Monday July 09)
  191. tenedor: fork (Tuesday July 10)
  192. tiempo (2): time (Wednesday July 11)
  193. toalla: towel (Thursday July 12)
  194. tomar (2): to take (Friday July 13)
  195. tostar: to toast; to roast; to tan (Saturday July 14)
  196. uña: nail (Sunday July 15)
  197. vacío: empty; meaningless (Monday July 16)
  198. verdadero: real (Tuesday July 17)
  199. anfitrión: host (Wednesday July 18)
  200. cabeza: head; top (Thursday July 19)
  201. cibernauta: internet user (Friday July 20)
  202. cocer: to cook (Saturday July 21)
  203. colar: to strain; to push in; to gatecrash (Sunday July 22)
  204. dejar: to stop doing (Monday July 23)
  205. descanso (2): break; half time (Tuesday July 24)
  206. destapar: to open; to uncover (Wednesday July 25)
  207. desvelar: to reveal; to keep awake (Thursday July 26)
  208. etapa: stage; phase (Friday July 27)
  209. localidad: town, locality; ticket (Saturday July 28)
  210. narigón: having a large nose (Sunday July 29)
  211. nariz (2): nose (Monday July 30)
  212. navegador: browser (Tuesday July 31)
  213. nervios: nerves (Wednesday August 01)
  214. nervioso (2): high strung, highly strung (Thursday August 02)
  215. nick (2): username (Friday August 03)
  216. ordenar (2): to order (Saturday August 04)
  217. regalar: to give; to give away (Sunday August 05)
  218. relación: connection, relationship, link (Monday August 06)
  219. relacionar: to connect, to link (Tuesday August 07)
  220. revelar: to reveal; to develop (Wednesday August 08)
  221. salida: exit, way out (Thursday August 09)
  222. tapar: to cover (Friday August 10)
  223. vaso: a glass (Saturday August 11)
  224. vela (2): candle; sail; sailing (Sunday August 12)
  225. ventana: window (Monday August 13)
  226. verdad: truth (Tuesday August 14)
  227. virtud: virtue (Wednesday August 15)
  228. arena: sand; arena (Thursday August 16)
  229. capital: capital (Friday August 17)
  230. claro (3): clear (Saturday August 18)
  231. conquistar: to conquer; to win over (Sunday August 19)
  232. contar: to tell; to count (Monday August 20)
  233. copa (2): glass (Tuesday August 21)
  234. cotidiano: daily, everyday (Wednesday August 22)
  235. desviar: to divert (Thursday August 23)
  236. dirección: direction; address (Friday August 24)
  237. emplomadura: filling (Saturday August 25)
  238. frente: forehead (Sunday August 26)
  239. mensual: monthly, per month (Monday August 27)
  240. moral: morale; morals (Tuesday August 28)
  241. moreno: dark; tanned (Wednesday August 29)
  242. mundano: worldly (Thursday August 30)
  243. persiana: blinds (Friday August 31)
  244. pues (2): well (Saturday September 01)
  245. quemar (2): to burn (Sunday September 02)
  246. razón (2): reason (Monday September 03)
  247. rebelarse: to rebel (Tuesday September 04)
  248. sacar (2): to get, to obtain; to take (Wednesday September 05)
  249. secar: to dry (Thursday September 06)
  250. semáforo: traffic lights, traffic signals (Friday September 07)
  251. semanal: weekly, per week (Saturday September 08)
  252. seña: sign (Sunday September 09)
  253. señal: sign; signal (Monday September 10)
  254. sol: the sun (Tuesday September 11)
  255. tormenta: storm (Wednesday September 12)
  256. velar: to look after (Thursday September 13)
  257. viento: wind (Friday September 14)
  258. abajo: below; downstairs (Saturday September 15)
  259. agradar: to like (Sunday September 16)
  260. alto: high; tall (Monday September 17)
  261. antiguo: old; antique; former (Tuesday September 18)
  262. apuntar: to write down, to make a note of; to point (Wednesday September 19)
  263. arriba: above; upstairs (Thursday September 20)
  264. bajar: to go down; to come down (Friday September 21)
  265. bajo: low; short (Saturday September 22)
  266. cielo: sky; heaven (Sunday September 23)
  267. convertirse: to become (Monday September 24)
  268. desagradar: to dislike, to find ... unpleasant (Tuesday September 25)
  269. desconocer: not to know, to be ignorant of (Wednesday September 26)
  270. diario: daily (Thursday September 27)
  271. facilitar: to make easier; to facilitate (Friday September 28)
  272. flaco: thin, skinny (Saturday September 29)
  273. frente a: opposite; in front of; in the face of (Sunday September 30)
  274. gordo: fat (Monday October 01)
  275. hembra: female (Tuesday October 02)
  276. inferior: lower; inferior (Wednesday October 03)
  277. infierno: hell (Thursday October 04)
  278. invierno: winter (Friday October 05)
  279. nota: mark; note (Saturday October 06)
  280. otoño: fall, autumn (Sunday October 07)
  281. primavera: spring (Monday October 08)
  282. rápido: fast, quick; quickly (Tuesday October 09)
  283. rebelde: rebellious; rebel (Wednesday October 10)
  284. rojo: red (Thursday October 11)
  285. rosa: rose; pink (Friday October 12)
  286. saltar (2): to appear (Saturday October 13)
  287. semana: week (Sunday October 14)
  288. abajo (2): down (Monday October 15)
  289. agradable: pleasant, nice (Tuesday October 16)
  290. agrado: liking (Wednesday October 17)
  291. alto (2): loud (Thursday October 18)
  292. amenazar: to threaten (Friday October 19)
  293. antiguamente: once, formerly; in the old days (Saturday October 20)
  294. apuntar (2): to enrol (Sunday October 21)
  295. arreglar: to fix, to repair, to mend; to tidy up (Monday October 22)
  296. bajar (2): to take down; to turn down (Tuesday October 23)
  297. bajo (2): soft, faint (Wednesday October 24)
  298. caber: to fit (Thursday October 25)
  299. caer: to fall (Friday October 26)
  300. camino: track; path; road (Saturday October 27)
  301. cansado: tired; tiring (Sunday October 28)
  302. cara: face (Monday October 29)
  303. cielo (2) (Tuesday October 30)
  304. debajo: under; underneath (Wednesday October 31)
  305. desarrollar: to develop (Thursday November 01)
  306. despertador: alarm clock (Friday November 02)
  307. diario (2): daily (Saturday November 03)
  308. doblar: to fold; to bend; to turn (Sunday November 04)
  309. edad: age (Monday November 05)
  310. gordo (2): big (Tuesday November 06)
  311. manzana: apple (Wednesday November 07)
  312. nunca: never (Thursday November 08)
  313. pasado: last (Friday November 09)
  314. peine: comb (Saturday November 10)
  315. pierna: leg (Sunday November 11)
  316. siempre: always (Monday November 12)
  317. superior: upper; top; superior (Tuesday November 13)
  318. aburrido: bored; boring (Wednesday November 14)
  319. arreglar (2): to do up; to sort out (Thursday November 15)
  320. bajo (3): under; below; by (Friday November 16)
  321. caer (2): to like (Saturday November 17)
  322. cambiar: to change (Sunday November 18)
  323. caminar: to walk (Monday November 19)
  324. camino (2): way, route (Tuesday November 20)
  325. cansar: to tire (Wednesday November 21)
  326. cara (2): side; cheek (Thursday November 22)
  327. conocimiento: knowledge (Friday November 23)
  328. decir: to say (Saturday November 24)
  329. desarrollar (2): to develop; to take place (Sunday November 25)
  330. descansado: rested, refreshed; restful, quiet (Monday November 26)
  331. doblar (2): to double (Tuesday November 27)
  332. doble: double (Wednesday November 28)
  333. nunca (2): ever (Thursday November 29)
  334. premio: prize (Friday November 30)
  335. raya: ray (Saturday December 01)
  336. realizar (2): to fulfill (Sunday December 02)
  337. semestre: six-month period, half year (Monday December 03)
  338. siempre (2): always (Tuesday December 04)
  339. subir: to go up; to come up (Wednesday December 05)
  340. tal (2): such (Thursday December 06)
  341. temer (2): to be afraid (Friday December 07)
  342. todavía: still; yet (Saturday December 08)
  343. trimestre: three-month period; term (Sunday December 09)
  344. varón: male; boy (Monday December 10)
  345. verano: summer (Tuesday December 11)
  346. verdad (2): real; really (Wednesday December 12)
  347. vez (3): time (Thursday December 13)
  348. acostarse: to lie down; to go to bed (Friday December 14)
  349. cama: bed (Saturday December 15)
  350. carne: meat (Sunday December 16)
  351. cerveza: beer (Monday December 17)
  352. doble (2): twice as much (Tuesday December 18)
  353. esconder: to hide (Wednesday December 19)
  354. escuchar: to listen; to listen to (Thursday December 20)
  355. ganar: to earn; to win (Friday December 21)
  356. iniciar: to begin, to start (Saturday December 22)
  357. inicio: beginning, start (Sunday December 23)
  358. llevarse: to get a surprise, to be surprised (Monday December 24)
  359. mirada: look (Tuesday December 25)
  360. mirar: to look; to look at (Wednesday December 26)
  361. mojar: to moisten, to dampen; to get ... wet (Thursday December 27)
  362. momento: moment, minute (Friday December 28)
  363. montón: loads of, masses of (Saturday December 29)
  364. mostrar: to show (Sunday December 30)
  365. obtener: to obtain, to get (Monday December 31)






Copyright © 2014 Dictionary.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
About PRIVACY POLICY Terms Careers Advertise with Us Contact Us Our Blog Suggest a Word Help