is a municipality in the county of Telemark, Norway
The parish of Tin was established as a municipality January 1, 1838 (see formannskapsdistrikt). Hovin was separated from Tinn 1860 - but it was again merged with Tinn January 1, 1964.
The municipality borders to the north with Nore og Uvdal, to the east with Notodden, Hjartdal and Seljord, and to the west with Vinje.
Tinn stretches deeply into the Hardangervidda landscape. One landmark in Tinn is the 1883 metre tall mountain Gaustatoppen, climbed each year by 30,000 people. On clear days it is possible to see one sixth of Norway from its summit.
Krossobanen is the oldest aerial tramway in Northern Europe. It was built in 1928 as a gift from Norsk Hydro.
The waterfall Rjukanfossen on the Måna river allowed construction of Vemork, the largest power station in the world in 1911. The station has become a museum where one can explore the history of the energy and see exhibits about the industrial development in Norway and at Rjukan, the municipality center of Tinn.
The museum is most famous for its presentation of Rjukan's war history. During World War II, Vemork was the site of the Norwegian heavy water sabotage, when Norwegian saboteurs prevented the Germans from producing atomic weapons from the heavy water which was produced here. The exhibit "Atomkappløpet" ("The nuclear race") presents the four heavy water sabotages and the allied efforts to develop a nuclear bomb.
form of the name was Tinnr
. It is probably the old name of the central lake in the municipality (now Tinnsjå
). The meaning of the name is unknown.
The coat-of-arms is from modern times (1994). It shows five drops
of water (to represent the five rivers in the municipality and the water power
(See also the coat-of-arms of Bykle and Samnanger.)
At the lake Møsvatn
close to Tinn is a museum and Hardangervidda nasjonalparksenter.