On the southern shore of the Wienfluß, the so-called Kinderpark (Children's park) was created in 1863, which is today still used mainly as a playground and for sports. The Karolinenbrücke (Caroline Bridge), which was built in 1857 (since 1918 it is known as Stadtparkbrücke - City Park Bridge) connects it to the Stadtpark proper on the northern side of the river.
After the regulation of the Wienfluss, the whole river area was rebuilt by Friedrich Ohmann and Josef Hackhofer between 1903 and 1907, with a gate out of which the river flows, pavilions and stairs to its shorts. The architecture, together with the U-Bahn station by Otto Wagner, is among the sights of the park.
After it was opened on 8 May 1867 amusements were originally prohibited. However, since that concept was not accepted, it was changed, and Johann Strauss II gave his first concert here on 15 October 1868. The Kursalon thus became a popular place for concerts and for dancing, especially during the area of the Strauss brothers. Today, after undergoing some renovation, it is still used for balls, concerts, clubbings and congresses. There is also a Café-Restaurant inside it.
3 Different Ways to See 1 City VIENA; FAMOUS for Waltzes, Pastries, Opera, the Danube and Wonderful Coffee Houses, Vienna Is Everything You Dreamed It Would Be. Although Its 19th Century Heyday Is Long Gone, It Remains a Fascinating City to Visit, and One Steeped in History, as TINA WALSH Discovers
Dec 24, 2006; Byline: TINA WALSH Bargain basement WHERE TO STAY Palace Hostel (www.hostel.at/en), also known as the Schlossherberge, is on a...
Skilful Cornering: Unusually for Its Type, This Speculative Office Block in Nuremberg Connects with Both Its Site and the Life of the City
Apr 01, 2007; Commissioned to design a new corporate building, the nineteenth- or early twentieth-century architect would expect to receive a...