After the West Highland Railway opened in 1894, Crianlarich could boast two railway stations. The West Highland Railway crossed over the Callander and Oban Railway by means of a viaduct located a short distance west of the Lower station. The West Highland Railway's Crianlarich station was (and still is) located a short distance south of this viaduct.
On 15 November 1921, the loop and one of the platforms at Crianlarich Lower were taken out of use. The platform on the south side was retained, it being located on the same side of the railway as the village.
Following nationalisation of the railways in 1948, both stations at Crianlarich came under the ownership of British Rail. It was not until 1953 that the suffixes "Upper" and "Lower" were added to the station names.signal box, which replaced the original box on 18 March 1890, was located on the Down platform. It had 14 levers.
There were two signal boxes: Crianlarich Junction East (32 levers) and Crianlarich Junction West (18 levers).
Following closure of the line east from Crianlarich Lower, the line between there and Crianlarich Junction was retained as a siding, with the link line becoming the main line for trains to and from Oban.