The land around Lindal, a small grange belonging to Furness Abbey in the Middle Ages, had long been known for its iron ore. In the 1840's and 1850's, larger deposits were discovered in the area and Lindal became one of many mining villages supplying the iron ore for what was then the world's largest steelworks, in Barrow.
Lindal was originally built around a tarn, which was later filled in with spoil from the mines to create a picturesque village green. The iron mining companies built houses, chapels, reading rooms, a public hall and a school in Lindal during the period from the mid 1800s to early 1900s.
The iron ore production declined in face of increased international competition and dwindling resources. The last mine in Lindal closed in 1960. Since then, Lindal has developed as a commuter village for the nearby towns of Barrow-in-Furness, Dalton-in-Furness and Ulverston.
Nowadays Lindal and the adjacent village of Marton share a common Parish Council, Residents' Association, church, and village hall. Lindal and Marton Primary School (LAMPS) is popular and successful, and celebrated its 150th anniversary in 2004.