(ˈsxeːfənɪŋə) is one of the eight districts of The Hague, as well as one of its subdistricts (wijken).
The harbor is used both for fishing and tourism.
The earliest reference to the name 'Sceveninghe' goes back to around 1280. The first inhabitants may have been Anglo Saxon. Other historians favor a Scandinavian origin. Fishing was the main source of food and income.
A road with neighbouring Den Haag was constructed in 1663 (current name: Scheveningseweg).
In 1470 a heavy storm destroyed the church and half of all houses. The village was again hit by storm on November 1 1570, in 1775, 1825, 1860, 1881 and in 1894. After this last storm the villagers decided to build a harbor. Until then, the fishing ships had a flat bottom (bomschuiten), and were pulled upon the beach. Around 1870 over 150 of these ships were in use. When the harbor had been constructed in 1904, more modern ships replaced the bomschuiten.
In 1818 Jacob Pronk built a wooden building on a dune near the sea, from where people could bathe from four separate rooms. It marked the start of Scheveningen as a bathing place. Since then, Scheveningen has attracted numerous tourists from all over Europe, notably from Germany.
The hotel and restaurant Kurhaus was opened in 1886.
The picturesque village attracted many Dutch artists over the centuries, to paint the bomschuiten drawn up on the beach, or fishermen at work in the North Sea. Notable painters who recorded the village include Adriaen van de Velde, Simon de Vlieger and Hendrik Willem Mesdag, whose enormous panorama, 14 m high and 120 m wide, preserves the view of Scheveningen in 1881.
Annual events include:
A visit to Scheveningen can include:
Night life centers on Pathé Scheveningen movie theater, and around the sea-front boulevard with its bars, restaurants, gambling halls and other entertainment.
The International Skating Union was founded in Scheveningen in 1892.
Vocal artist Sander Scheurwater, a.k.a. "De Mosselman", is from Scheveningen.
Webcams and weather stations: