is an unincorporated community
located in Clackamas County
, United States
. It is located along Oregon Route 212
, approximately eight miles south of Gresham
and about the same distance from Clackamas
, both suburbs
The community was named for W. H. Boring, an early resident of the area. Boring was platted in 1903 as "Boring Junction". The post office was established and named "Boring" the same year, and the builders of the interurban railway adopted Boring as the name of the community.
The unique name of the town often prompts its inclusion on lists of unusual place names. The name "Boring" is embraced by locals, however, and found in many local businesses, resulting in many road signs that seem humorous to outsiders.
In 2005, citizens of Boring applied to become one of the first legally recognized villages in Oregon.
Boosters of the village designation use the slogan "The most exciting place to live."
After many months of polarizing debate on the village issue, residents narrowly defeated the village designation in a town hall referendum, with 293 votes in favor and 298 against.
Boring was a timber industry
town throughout much of the 20th century. The Portland Traction Company
, a now-defunct railroad, operated a rail line from Portland (near the current location of the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry
(OMSI) on the Willamette River
) to Boring via Gresham. In the 1950s, the Southern Pacific
and Union Pacific
railroads jointly took over operation of the remaining portion of the line for freight operations. Much of the line has since been purchased by local governments for the creation of a long-distance rail trail
named the Springwater Corridor
. It is also home to Westcott's
, manufacturer of reproduction fiberglass bodies for hot rods
and custom cars