Fairy Stone State Park, located in Patrick County, Virginia, is the largest of the original six state parks that opened on June 15, 1936, and is home to the mysterious "fairy stones." The park's cross-shaped, namesake stone is prevalent in the region, which also features beautiful scenery, rich history and ample recreational opportunities. The park's land was donated in 1933 by Junius B. Fishburn, former president of the Southwest Virginia Trust Co. and former owner of the Roanoke Times. The park is 4,868 acres, making it the largest of the six original parks and one of the largest to this day. The park, its lake and many structures still in use were built by the Civilian Conservation Corps.