Definitions

chu xi

Public holidays in Malaysia

There are two types of holidays in Malaysia, National and State levels. National holidays are normally observed by most government and private organization. State holidays are normally only observed by certain states in Malaysia or when it is relevant to the state itself.

In addition, Government agencies are closed every Saturday and Sunday. Meanwhille in Kedah, Kelantan and Terengganu, the government agencies are closed every Friday and Saturday.

National holidays

2008 national holidays

Date Day Holiday Remarks
January 10 Thursday Awal Muharam (1429 Hijrah) 1st day of the Muharram, the beginning of the new Islamic year
January 23 Wednesday Thaipusam
February 7 Thursday Chinese New Year (Day 1) Consists of a period of celebrations, starting on New Year's Day, celebrated on the first day of the first month of the Chinese calendar.
February 8 Friday Chinese New Year (Day 2) Consists of a period of celebrations, starting on New Year's Day, celebrated on the first day of the first month of the Chinese calendar.
March 20 Thursday Prophet Muhammad's Birthday Birthday of the Prophet Muhammad SAW
May 1 Thursday Labour Day
May 19 Monday Wesak Day
June 7 Saturday Agong's Birthday
August 31 Sunday National Day
September 1 Monday National Day (Sunday replacement)
October 1 Wednesday Hari Raya Aidilfitri (Day 1) End of Ramadan. Even though it is not the most important holiday on the Islamic calendar it is the most widely and publicly celebrated Muslim holiday in the country.
October 2 Thursday Hari Raya Aidilfitri (Day 2) End of Ramadan. Even though it is not the most important holiday on the Islamic calendar it is the most widely and publicly celebrated Muslim holiday in the country.
October 27 Monday Deepavali (Divali) The Hindu festival of lights and the only holiday given in recognition of the Hindu faith. Celebrated in every states in Malaysia except Sarawak and Labuan.
December 8 Monday Hari Raya Aidiladha (Hari Raya Haji) Celebrated about two months after Aidilfitri, on the 10th day of Zulhijah, the 12th month of the Muslim calendar, it marks the end of the haj pilgrimage period (about two weeks); hence the name Hari Raya Haji (festival of the pilgrimage).
December 25 Thursday Christmas
December 29 Monday Awal Muharam (1430) 1st day of the Muharram, the beginning of the new Islamic year

State holidays

Festivals of Malaysia

Malay Festivals

Chinese Festivals

Indian Festivals

Others

See also

Search another word or see chu xion Dictionary | Thesaurus |Spanish
Copyright © 2014 Dictionary.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
  • Please Login or Sign Up to use the Recent Searches feature
FAVORITES
RECENT

;