Definitions

baba-ganoush

Vegetarian cuisine

Vegetarian cuisine refers to food that meets vegetarian standards by excluding meat and animal tissue products. For lacto-ovo vegetarianism (the most common type of vegetarianism in the Western world), eggs and dairy products such as milk and cheese are permitted. The strictest forms of vegetarianism are veganism and fruitarianism, which exclude all animal products, including dairy products as well as honey, and even some refined sugars if filtered and whitened with bone char.

Vegetarian foods can be classified into several different types:

  • Traditional foods that have always been vegetarian (Cereals/grains, fruits, vegetables, nuts, etc.)
  • Soy products including Tofu and Tempeh which are common protein sources.
  • Textured vegetable protein (TVP), made from defatted soy flour, often included in chili and burger recipes in place of ground meat.
  • Meat analogues, which mimic the taste, texture, and appearance of meat and are often used in recipes that traditionally contained meat.
  • Vegans may also use analogues for eggs and dairy products.

Foods used in vegetarian cuisine

Food usually regarded as suitable for all types of the vegetarian cuisine usually include:

Food suitable for several types of the vegetarian cuisine:

  • Dairy products (milk, butter, cheese (except for cheese containing rennet), yogurt (excluding yogurt made with gelatin), etc) — not eaten by vegans and pure ovo-vegetarians
  • Eggs — not eaten by vegans and pure lacto-vegetarians
  • Honey — not eaten by some vegans

Cuisine that is traditionally vegetarian

These are some of the most common dishes that vegetarians in the Western world eat without substitution of ingredients. Such dishes include, from breakfasts to dinnertime desserts:

National cuisines

Desserts

Cuisine that uses meat analogues

These are vegetarian versions of popular dishes that non-vegetarians enjoy and are frequently consumed as fast food, comfort food, transition food for new vegetarians, or a way to show non-vegetarians that they can be vegetarians while still enjoying their favorite foods. Many vegetarians just enjoy these dishes as part of a varied diet.

Some popular mock-meat dishes include:

  • Veggie burgers (burgers usually made from grains, TVP, seitan (wheat gluten), tempeh, and/or mushrooms)
    • In some cases, one can order a burger made without any mock-meat at all, see: "burgerless burger"
  • Veggie dogs (usually made from TVP)
  • Imitation sausage (soysage, various types of 'salami', 'bologna', 'pepperoni', et al., made of some form of soy)
  • Mockmeat or 'meatyballs' (usually made from TVP)
  • Vegetarian or meatless 'chicken' (usually made from seitan, tofu or TVP)
  • Jambalaya (with mock sausage and mock chicken, usually made from TVP, seitan, or tempeh)
  • Tomato Omelette where tomatoes and a paste of flour is used to produce a vegetable omelette without the use of eggs.
  • Scrambled eggs where tofu is mashed and fried with spices (often including tumeric, for its strong yellow color) to produce a dish that is often nearly indistinguishable from eggs.
  • In baking eggs are easily replaced by ground flax seeds, applesauce, mashed bananas, or commercial egg replacer

Mycoprotein is another common base for mock-meats, and vegetarian flavorings are added to these bases, such as Sea vegetables for a seafood taste.

Note that choa tofu and tempeh are components in certain cuisines in their own right, and do not necessarily take the place of meat.

See also

External links

Search another word or see baba-ganoushon Dictionary | Thesaurus |Spanish
Copyright © 2014 Dictionary.com, LLC. All rights reserved.
  • Please Login or Sign Up to use the Recent Searches feature
FAVORITES
RECENT

;