Taro cake, often referred to as yam cake, is not made from yams but from taro which is a corm. Taro cake is made by steaming small pieces of taro with rice flour, water and salt. It is suitable for vegetarians as it does not include any animal products except for its garnishings. It is usually garnished with dried prawns (which have been soaked, chopped coarsely and fried), deep-fried shallots, chopped stalks of fresh spring onions, sprigs of Chinese parsley, toasted sesame seeds and red chilis. It is served with a thick sweet soy sauce along with a spicy chili paste which is optional.