Unlike the neighbouring village of Charlestown, Limekilns is an extremely old settlement dating back to the 14th century. The oldest building in the village is without doubt The King's Cellar, a large and somewhat mysterious property whose existence can be traced back to 1362. It has served many different purposes throughout its long life, notably as a store house, school, library and chapel. It is currently employed as a Freemasons Lodge and is generally not open to the public.
The exact origins of the name Limekilns are unknown. Certainly lime was burned there in relatively small amounts in the early life of the village, though there was a much larger operation going on in the neighbouring village of Charlestown. The ruins of the massive kilns still exist today and are protected by the National Trust for Scotland.
In its early days Limekilns was mainly a fishing village, with the large natural harbour providing docking facilities for small to medium transport and cargo ships. Soap was also produced from a soapworks located near Caupernaum Pier.
However, the years of industrial decline meant that most of these industries were lost and Limekilns became just another sleepy coastal village. However, new housing estates were added during the property boom of the 1970s and 1980s, considerably boosting the size and population of the village. Today, its picturesque location and generally high quality housing make Limekilns an attractive residential area.
Limekilns is presided over by the Earl of Elgin, who lives in Broomhall House overlooking the village.
Birthplace of George Thomson.