Île-à-la-Crosse is the second oldest community in Saskatchewan, Canada, being established in 1846 as a Roman Catholic mission by Father Tache, but as a fur trading post in 1779 by the Hudson's Bay Company. It has a rich history being connected to the Churchill River, Beaver River and Canoe River systems. Therefore, almost every explorer in western Canada has been through Île-à-la-Crosse. The Cree name for Île-à-la-Crosse is Sakittawak which means "the place where the river flows out". The sister of Louis Reil, Marguerite Marie Riel, is buried in this area. The population of this northern village is about 1600, which consists of Metis, French, Scottish, Scandinavian and Cree settlers.