The branch opened its doors for the first time on the 19th June 1919. The first members were all from Zebbug and used to come many a time on foot after a day’s work. It was located at No: 2 Church Street (Triq il-Knisja). On the first day the founder himself came and held talks with youths of the locality encouraging them to attend and experience the love of God. The founder was to later visit the branch many times.
Actually the society was not to stay in these premises for long but shifted its premises many a time. Incidentally during the days of war, the branch served as a school for the many people coming to live in Attard after being displaced from the harbour region. During this time catechism lessons were held in the home of the branch superior of the time, Francis Zammit, at 60/61 St Anthony Street (Triq Sant' Antnin).
In the late sixties the need was felt for bigger and better planned premises. Thanks to the efforts of the parish priest Fr. J. Dalmas, the small cemetery used in the plague of 1676, situated behind the chapel dedicated to St. Anne, was ear marked for the project. The first stone was laid on the 13th September 1970. the new premises which at present houses the society in Attard, started to operate during the year 1974. Many parishioners helped financially or otherwise in the construction of the new building.
During all these years many catechists came from Attard and other various localities to help in spreading the Good News. They came with great commitment and with great love towards God. The society in Attard came through thick and thin and several challenges had to be faced. Let us not forget that Head is the master of the house and thanks to Him one may face any difficulty which may arise In this spirit one augurs for the future.