The Dyckman Farmhouse is the oldest remaining farmhouse on Manhattan island, a reminder of New York City's rural past. The Dutch Colonial style farmhouse was built on the site of what is now the corner of Broadway and 204th Street by Dutch farmer William Dyckman circa 1784 and was originally part of several hundred acres of farmland owned by the family.
Today, nestled in a small park, the farmhouse is an extraordinary reminder of early Manhattan and an important part of its diverse Inwood neighborhood. The farmhouse was transferred from Dyckman family hands to the city of New York in 1910, who opened it as a museum in 1916 and have maintained it to the present day. It has been a National Historic Landmark since 1967.,,
A major restoration project was undertaken in 2003, and the farmhouse re-opened to the public in Fall 2005.