The squadron motto was Dare to Discover
No. 192 Squadron was formed at Gainsborough, England on 5 September 1917 as a night training squadron operating the Royal Aircraft Factory FE.2b and FE.2d. The squadron moved to Newmarket in 1918 and was disbanded in December 1918.
The squadron was re-formed on 4 January 1943 when No. 1474 Flight at RAF Gransden Lodge was re-numbered. The squadron operated specially modified Vickers Wellingtons and de Havilland Mosquitos with the task to identify German radars. It also carried out similar missions over the Mediterranean. In April 1943 the squadron moved to RAF Feltwell.
At the end of 1943 the squadron moved again to RAF Foulsham to operate with 100 Group. During bomber raids the aircraft would provide countermeasures to German radars. The squadron disbanded at the end of the Second World War on 22 August 1945.
On 15 July 1951 the squadron reformed at RAF Watton as part of the Central Signals Establishment for Operational Signals Research. Despite the name Research in the role the squadron continued with its traditional ELINT role. The squadron also used the Boeing Washington and English Electric Canberra in the ELINT role.
The squadron disbanded on the 21 August 1958 when it was renumbered as 51 Squadron.